Dolomiti Patrimonio Unesco Alexander Molveno Trentino

Unesco World Heritage Dolomites

The recognition crowns a long journey

The Brenta Dolomites, one of our planet’s most precious natural treasures, have been recognised as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. This extraordinary recognition confirms the extraordinary scenic beauty and ecological richness of this mountainous region located in the heart of the Italian Alps. A journey through the Dolomites isaunique experience, an immersion in the majesty of nature and the geological history of our planet.

Dolomiti di Brenta Trentino ALexander

From July 2009 Unesco Natural Heritage

On 26 June 2009, in Seville, Unesco decreed the inclusion of the Dolomites in the World Natural Heritage of Humanity. The recognition crowns a long journey of more than four years that has sanctioned the extraordinary landscape and naturalistic value of the ‘most beautiful mountains in the world’.

In Seville, after the illustrative report by the proposer delegated by the Union for Conservation of Nature (Iucn), the in-depth speeches by the Italian ambassador to Unesco and the discussion by the 21 members of the World Hermitage Comittee (Whc), the candidature of the Dolomites was finally fully accepted.

The nine Dolomite groups – Pelmo-Croda da Lago, Marmolada, Pale di San Martino-San Lucano, Dolomiti Bellunesi, Dolomiti Friulane e d’Oltre Piave, Dolomiti Settentrionali, Puez-Odle, Sciliar-Catinaccio- Latemar, Bletterbach and Dolomiti di Brenta – have been recognised by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation as a serial asset for their exceptional geological and landscape features. As of today, they are inscribed on the Unesco list of natural assets and must be subject to precise rules of protection and enhancement.

check availability




Check availability